The Reality of Date Palm Cultivation and Date Production in Jordan

The "Mejhoul" variety has marked a significant breakthrough in global demand for dates due to its taste and easy-to-digest texture, which is favored by consumers worldwide. Investors have expanded the production of Jordanian "Mejhoul" dates alongside "Barhi" dates, which are also consumed at the stage of ripeness known as "Balah" and are characterized by their sweet taste and tender texture. Another advantage of the Jordanian "Barhi" variety is that its production season begins after the production season in the Gulf countries has ended. Both of these date varieties are distinguished by their sugar content, which is mainly comprised of disaccharides (glucose and fructose) rather than monosaccharides (sucrose), which have a negative impact on blood sugar levels. Additionally, "Mejhoul" dates contain high levels of potassium, phosphorus, vitamins A and B, antioxidants, and phenols, as well as significant amounts of magnesium and manganese.

The Date Sector in Jordan

The area currently cultivated with "Mejhoul" and "Barhi" dates in Jordan is estimated to be around 35,000 dunams, spread along the Jordan Valley and up to the Aqaba region in the far south of Jordan. The number of palm trees is estimated to be around 500,000. It is expected that Jordan's share of date production in the global market will increase over the next three years due to the introduction of new areas into production and the ongoing expansion of "Mejhoul" and "Barhi" date cultivation. The return on dates from water productivity is also several times higher compared to other types of fruits and vegetables. Additionally, the date palm sector in Jordan has the potential to provide employment for skilled labor year-round, not just seasonally. Currently, the sector offers around 5,000 job opportunities, with women making up more than 35% of the workforce. This sector also has the capacity to utilize modern techniques and machinery in production and post-harvest operations, with several farms holding certifications for good agricultural practices (Global GAP), ACCP, ISO 22000, and other global quality standards. Farmers in this sector are continuously developing and updating production and post-harvest technologies.

Date Trade in Jordan

The annual date production in the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan is estimated at around 25,000 tons, which is expected to increase to about 40,000 tons in the coming years. Jordan annually consumes approximately 32,000 tons of dates. The per capita consumption of dates in Jordan is expected to significantly increase to 2 kg per year compared to consumption rates exceeding 35 kg per capita in Iraq and Saudi Arabia, due to increased awareness of the nutritional importance and value of dates.

Statistics indicate that in 2016, Jordan imported approximately 13,000 tons of dates worth 23 million dinars from Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Iraq, Algeria, Qatar, and Tunisia (ranked according to relative importance). Jordan exports about 8,000 tons of Jordanian dates to markets in the UAE, other Gulf countries, Iraq, and European countries, while re-exports did not exceed 550 tons annually. The prices of first-grade Jordanian dates in the local market are estimated at about 4-6 dinars, and around 2 dinars for second-grade Jordanian dates. The prices of dates exported to global markets are estimated at about 6-7 dinars per kilogram.

Challenges Facing the Date Palm Sector in Jordan

First: Sector Organization

Due to the random expansion facing the palm cultivation and date production sector in the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, there are many negative consequences expected from this unregulated expansion. This has and will lead to the spread of diseases and pests between different production areas and will result in farms providing below the minimum required services, thus leading to the spread of diseases and pests. There is also the risk of planting some poor-quality varieties that will lead to significant economic losses.

Second: Labor

Date palms require trained labor capable of performing the difficult tasks involved in various agricultural operations, including pruning, pollination, thinning, bagging, and packing, in addition to fertilization programs and precise protection and control programs. This sector needs workers capable of using the special equipment and tools for palm service. As Jordanian labor openly shuns work in the agricultural sector, encouraging this labor requires special state support, as working in palm cultivation and date production is not seasonal. The current need for trained labor in the Jordanian palm sector is estimated at around 5,000 skilled workers. Until this number is trained through supported programs adopted by the association, the sector will need 5-7 years of foreign labor from date-growing countries such as Egypt, Nepal, Sudan, Yemen, and others.

Third: Water

Studies conducted by international institutions indicate that the return on a cubic meter of water used for palm cultivation is 3-4 times the return from cultivating other types of vegetables and fruits. Therefore, it is necessary to provide the required quantities of water, whether directly from Jordan Valley Authority projects or by allowing the drilling of artesian wells in areas where water can be found. The sector will also need support to establish desalination plants for brackish water extracted from these wells and converted from the brackish water projects of the Jordan Valley Authority. It is noteworthy that date palms are among the most tolerant crops to water salinity, a problem that the Jordan Valley is increasingly facing.

Fourth: Palm Weevil

The red palm weevil is considered one of the most destructive pests to date palm trees, as evidenced by the experience of neighboring countries where the red palm weevil has caused significant losses in this sector. Therefore, supporting the establishment of an independent administrative unit within the Jordanian Ministry of Agriculture, dedicated primarily to combating the palm weevil, is essential. This pest is now present in the Kingdom and threatens this valuable resource unless timely measures are taken. Coordination between the Jordan Dates Association, the Ministry of Agriculture, and the National Center for Agricultural Research and Extension is also necessary to ensure information exchange among all parties involved in the control process, including farmers.

Fifth: Scientific Research

The Jordanian "Mejhoul" variety is one of the relatively new date varieties globally and has some specific issues that require more specialized scientific studies and research. For example, the problem of "loose skin" in Mejhoul dates needs to be addressed.

Organizers

In Cooperation with

Subscribe for Our Newsletter

واقع زراعة النخيل وإنتاج التمور بالأردن

شكل صنف "المجهول" نقلة نوعية في الطلب على التمور على مستوى العالم، لما يمتاز به من طعم وقوام سهل الهضم مرغوب لدى المستهلك العالمي، وقد توسع المستثمرون بإنتاج تمور "المجهول" الأردنية إلى جانب تمور "البرحي" التي تؤكل أيضاً في مرحلة البلح (البسر) والتي تمتاز بطعمها الحلو وهشة القوام، وهناك ميزة أخرى لصنف "البرحي" الأردني أن موسم إنتاجه يبدأ بعد أن ينتهي موسم الإنتاج في مناطق زراعته بدول الخليج العربي. كما يمتاز هذان الصنفان من التمور في أن محتواهما من السكريات يقتصر بشكل رئيسي على السكريات الثنائية (الجلوكوز والفركتوز) وليس السكر الأحادي (السكروز) ذات التأثير السلبي على مستويات السكر بالدم. كما تحوي ثمار "المجهول" أيضاً على مستويات عالية من البوتاسيوم والفسفور وفيتامين AوB ومضادات الأكسدة والفينولات كما يحوي مستويات عالية من المغنيسيوم والمنغنيز.

قطاع التمور في الأردن

تقدر المساحة المزروعة حالياً من صنفي تمر "المجهول" و "البرحي" في الأردن بحوالي 35.000 دونم موزعة على امتداد وادي الأردن وحتى منطقة العقبة في أقصى الجنوب الأردني، كما يقدر عدد الأشجار منها ما يقارب من 500.000 شجرة نخيل. ومن المتوقع أن ترتفع حصة الإنتاج الأردني من هذه التمور في السوق العالمية خلال الثلاث سنوات القادمة نتيجة لدخول مساحات جديدة في الإنتاج بالإضافة إلى استمرار زخم التوسع بزراعة وإنتاج صنفي تمر "المجهور" و "البرحي" وارتفاع عائد التمور من إنتاجية المتر المكعب من المياه بعدة أضعاف مقارنة مع باقي أنواع الفواكه والخضار الأخرى. هذا بالإضافة إلى امكانيات قطاع نخيل التمر في تشغيل الأيدي العاملة المدربة والماهرة على مدار السنة وليس في المواسم فقط، حيث يقدر عدد فرص العمل في قطاع نخيل التمر بالأردن بوضعه الحالي ما يقارب من 5000 فرصة عمل تشكل المرأة فيها أكثر من 35% ويتمتع هذا القطاع أيضاً بالقدرة على استخدام التقنيات والميكنة الحديثة بالإنتاج وعمليات ما بعد الإنتاج (post harvest) وهنالك عدد من المزارع الحاصلة على شهادات الممارسات الزراعية الجيدة (Global Gap) والــ ACCP والأيزو 22000 وغيرها من شهادات الجودة العالمية، وهنالك تطوير وتحديث مستمر من قبل مزارعي هذا القطاع لتقنيات الإنتاج وما بعد الحصاد.

تجارة التمور في الأردن

يقدر إنتاج المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية من التمور سنوياً بحوالي 25.000 طن مرشحة للزيادة إلى حوالي 40.000 طن خلال السنوات القليلة القادمة، فيما يستهلك الأردن سنوياً حوالي 32.000 طن من التمور، كما من المتوقع زيادة ملحوظة في معدل استهلاك الفرد الأردني من التمور إلى 2 كغم سنوياً مقارنة مع معدلات استهلاك تتجاوز 35 كغم للفرد في كل من العراق والسعودية، وذلك نتيجة زيادة الوعي بأهمية وقيمة التمور من الناحية الغذائية.

وتشير الإحصائيات إلى أن الأردن استورد في عام 2016 حوالي 13.000 طن بقيمة 23 مليون دينار من السعودية والإمارات والعراق والجزائر وقطر وتونس (مرتبة حسب الأهمية النسبية)، فيما يصدر حوالي 8.000 طن من التمور الأردنية إلى أسواق الإمارات ودول الخليج الأخرى والعراق والدول الأوروبية، فيما إعادة التصدير لم تتجاوز 550 طن سنوياً، كما تقدر أسعار التمور الأردنية من الدرجة الأولى في السوق المحلي بحوالي 4- 6 دنانير، وحوالي دينارين للتمور الأردنية من الدرجة الثانية، فيما تقدر أسعار التمور المصدرة إلى الأسواق العالمية بحوالي 6-7 دنانير للكيلوغرام الواحد.

التحديات التي تواجه قطاع نخيل التمر بالأردن

أولاً: تنظيم القطاع

نظراً للتوسع العشوائي الذي يواجه قطاع زراعة النخيل وإنتاج التمور بالمملكة الأردنية الهاشمية، فإن هنالك العديد من النتائج السلبية المتوقعة نتيجة هذا التوسع غير المنتظم مما أدى وسيؤدي إلى انتقال الأمراض والحشرات بين مناطق الإنتاج المختلفة كما أن ذلك سيؤدي إلى قيام مزارع ذات خدمة دون الحد الأدنى المطلوب وبالتالي سيؤدي إلى انتشار الأمراض والآفات إضافة إلى احتمال زراعة بعض الأصناف الرديئة التي ستؤدي إلى خسائر اقتصادية كبيرة.

ثانياً: العمالة

يحتاج النخيل إلى عمالة مدربة قادرة على القيام بالأعمال الصعبة التي تتضمنها العمليات الزراعية المختلفة من تقليم وتلقيح وخف وتكييس وتركيس وتكبيس بالإضافة إلى برامج التسميد وبرامج الوقاية والمكافحة الدقيقة، كما يحتاج هذا القطاع إلى عمّال قادرين على استخدام المعدات والأدوات الخاصة بخدمة النخيل، وحيث أن العمالة الأردنية تعزف عن العمل بالقطاع الزراعي بشكل علني، فإن تشجيع هذه العمالة يحتاج إلى دعم خاص من الدولة لكون العمل بزراعة النخيل وإنتاج التمور ليس بشكل موسمي. حيث يقدر حجم العمالة المدربة اللازمة لقطاع النخيل بالأردن كما هي اليوم بحوالي 5000 عامل ماهر. وإلى أن يتم تدريب هذا العدد عبر برامج مدعومة تتبناها الجمعية فإن القطاع سيكون بحاجة إلى 5-7 سنوات من العمالة الوافدة من الدول التي لديها نخيل كمصر ونيبال والسودان واليمن وغيرها.

ثالثاً: المياه

أشارت الدراسات التي أجرتها المؤسسات الدولية إلى أن العائد على المتر المكعب من المياه المستخدمة للنخيل يعادل 3-4 أضعاف العائد المتأتي من زراعة باقي أنواع الخضار والفواكه، لذلك لابد من توفير الكميات اللازمة من المياه سواء مباشرة من مشاريع سلطة وادي الأردن أو من خلال السماح بحفر الآبار الارتوازية في المناطق الممكن وجود المياه بها، كما سيحتاج القطاع إلى دعم إقامة محطات تحلية للمياه المالحة المستخرجة من هذه الآبار والمحولة من مشاريع المياه المالحة لسلطة وادي الأردن هذا مع العلم أن النخيل يعتبر من أكثر المحاصيل تحملاً لملوحة المياه وهذه المشكلة أصبح وادي الأردن يعاني منها والمشكلة في طريقها إلى التفاقم.

رابعاً: سوسة النخيل

تعتبر سوسة النخيل الحمراء من أكثر الآفات فتكاً بشجرة نخيل التمر وذلك يتضح من تجربة الدول المجاورة حيث تمكنت حشرة السوسة الحمراء إلى خسائر فادحة بهذا القطاع، لذلك فإن دعم قيام وحدة إدارية مستقلة خاصة بنخيل التمر في وزارة الزراعة الأردنية تعمل بشكل أساسي على مكافحة سوسة النخيل التي أصبحت موجودة في المملكة وتهدد هذه الثروة إذا لم تُتخذ الإجراءات اللازمة في الوقت المناسب كما لابد من التنسيق ما بين جمعية التمور الأردنية ووزارة الزراعة والمركز الوطني للبحث والإرشاد الزراعي لضمان تبادل المعلومة بين جميع أطراف عملية المكافحة بمن فيهم المزارعين.

خامساً: البحث العلمي

يعتبر صنف "المجهول" الأردني من أصناف التمور الحديثة عالمياً وهنالك بعض المشاكل الخاصة بهذا الصنف ويحتاج إلى المزيد من الدراسات والبحوث العلمية المتخصصة على سبيل المثال (Loose skin) في المجهول.

x

المنظمون

بالتعاون مع

انضم الى القائمة البريدية للمهرجان